The Parish Council is the first tier of local government and comprises 10 elected Councillors and the Clerk. The Parish Council is not connected with the Church.

Please contact us if you have any questions concerning the work of the Parish Council, if you have any concerns that you feel the Council should be aware of or where it can help or support you.

As required by law and in accordance with the Localism Act, a copy of the Disclosable Pecuniary Interests (DPI) of the Parish Councillors is available on the North Herts District Council website.

Full Council meet on the last Tuesday of each month except in August and December at 7:30pm and are held at the Peace Memorial Hall, High Street, Codicote. The following Committees with their Chairmen support the Parish Council
  • Planning: Cllr Russell Green
  • Environment & Recreation:  Cllr Colin Argent
  • Policy & Resources: Cllr Colin Argent
  • Chairman of the Council: Cllr Mike Kane

The agenda is displayed at least three clear days before the meeting.

Members of the public are welcomed at the meetings and a Public Forum is held at the beginning of each meeting, when those present are invited to speak on matters important to them. The Public Forum is limited to 15 minutes.

Codicote falls within the Stevenage constituency. The MP for Stevenage is Stephen McPartland. For more information go to or contact him by email:

County Councillor for Codicote is:-

  • Richard Thake:

District Councillors for Codicote are:-